Review: Cosmic Pet’s Alpine Scratcher

Cosmic Catnip Alpine Scratcher II  http://www.cosmicpet.com

I have mixed feelings about this scratcher, but my cats don’t seem to!  They use it all the time.  And since that means they aren’t scratching up the furniture, I have to admit that I’m glad it’s in my home.

From the beginning I was against getting one of these since, to be frank, it’s ugly.  I mean, why on earth would I want some junky cardboard contraption cluttering up my house?!  Moxie has a small sisal and carpet scratcher that, thankfully, she uses often.  But when we brought Rupert home I wanted one specifically for him to use while we kept him in a separate room for the first few days.  Since I had, literally, 15 minutes to run to the pet store to pick up some essentials before we brought him home from the SPCA, I grabbed one of these with the intention of recycling it once Rupert was acclimated to his new home.  The minute I unwrapped it from the plastic Rupert started using it as a slide and kept crawling to the top then rolling down the scratcher getting covered in catnip the whole way.  It was one of the funniest things I’d ever seen!  During the introductory period, Moxie got her claws into the Alpine Scratcher and would scratch and scratch from every angle.

At that point, both cats were using the scratcher so I could hardly get rid of it!  I have now accepted the Alpine Scratcher into my life and will continue to replace the inner scratching board as needed.  It still looks strange and ugly to me but the cats like it and use it so I guess that means I like it too.

A little about the product:

You can find the Alpine Scratcher or something similar at any pet store you go to.  You may even be able to find it at places like Target or Walmart but I haven’t confirmed that.  The Alpine Scratcher II comes with a replaceable scratching board, a bag of catnip, and a crinkle toy attached to the inside of the scratcher accessible through a hole on either side for additional play.  The outside of the scratcher depicts a wide-eyed cat in lederhosen standing (yes, like a person) on a mountaintop beside 2 kittens in diapers (??) with a rainbow in the background.  It’s weird.  Even if you lived in the Alps and wore lederhosen, it still wouldn’t match anything in your home.  Aside from it’s looks, the only thing I don’t really like is that little bits of shredded cardboard end up at the foot of the toy.  Somehow, Charlie lays in it before I have a chance to sweep up the mess and he ends up with cardboard stuck to his curls.  It’s not a deal-breaker but it’s kind of annoying.

At around $12 for the scratcher and about $10 for a replacement board 2 pack, you will definitely get your money’s worth.  Plus, each scratching board is 2 sided so you are getting a double value there.  All in all, this scratching post is effective and fun for cats but requires an adjustment period for some owners.

2 thoughts on “Review: Cosmic Pet’s Alpine Scratcher

  1. Nice review on the Cosmic Pet Alpine Scratcher. I passed this up in the store because, as you mentioned, it’s a bit ugly. BUT, not as ugly as a scratched up couch! I think I’ll give it a try. Thank you!

    • A co-worker mentioned to me that his cat didn’t quite take to it so you may need to train (read: bribe) your cat to like it. Moxie didn’t use her carpet & sisal scratcher at first but every time she started to scratch the couch we picked her up and put her on the scratcher and then gave her a treat on it. After that any time she scratched her post on her own, we gave her a treat. She figured it out pretty quickly and now uses both kinds of scratchers. As added incentive we still put treats and catnip around the scratcher bases but never on the couch. Good luck and let me know how it goes!

Leave a Reply

