The Search

I’m currently searching for my next best friend and I think I may have found her.  It’s been a pretty long process.  I’ve been cruising the NHSPCA, Mary’s Dogs, Petfinder, and other random shelters nearby for the past few months.  Because of my experience with Charlie, I’m a little nervous about making sure I find a good fit for me.  To facilitate the process I made a list of what it would take to be The One.  The breed or sex didn’t matter as long as they were small to medium sized.  I want an adult dog who is housebroken and well-behaved.  Must be good with children and other dogs – even though I have neither – so that I can confidently bring the dog with me wherever I go as well as send the pup to “camp” (see my post on Doggy Daycare to see why it’s such a good thing).  He/she will be left at home while I’m at work and needs to be able to handle that, but also be able to keep up with my weekend activities like hiking, cross-country skiing, swimming, or even lounging inside all day while the storm rages outside.

In October I thought I found my match.  Champ at the NHSPCA was just the dog for me!  I decided to sleep on it to be sure.  I woke the next day knowing that I would go back and get him and when I showed up, I found that he had already been adopted.  How heartbreaking!  I told myself that it just wasn’t meant to be and moved on… slowly.  However, I found that he was the one I kept comparing others to.

I’ve been hesitant to adopt a dog I couldn’t meet first but after reading about so many success stories about dogs adopted from afar, I thought that it couldn’t hurt to explore the option a little more.  In expanding my search, I found this girl, Victoria, an Australian Shepherd mix currently housed in Louisiana.   I was instantly drawn to her fluff, her smile, and her funny tail!  So I decided to email the shelter about her.  I heard back right away and learned more about her personality.  She’s very sweet, not much of a barker, good with people and dogs, crate trained, walks well on a leash.  I also discovered that she was heartworm positive.  But after a quick call to my wonderful vet I learned that as long as she’s treated for it and rests for long enough, it’s nothing to worry about.  So I took the plunge and filled out an application.  That was Friday.  I thought about her all weekend and emailed again on Tuesday to check the status of the application.

I WAS APPROVED!  I’m just getting a few more pictures and needed my biggest question answered: What do I do if she’s not the right fit for me?  The Humane Society of Louisiana partners with shelters in the Northeast so I would surrender Victoria back to them so they could find a more suitable home.  I have a really good feeling about her though.  We’ll see how this turns out but I could have a new best friend in just 1 month!

Victoria 1

2 thoughts on “The Search

  1. Pingback: She’s Mine! « Seacoast Pets | Reviews and Research for Spoiled Dogs

  2. Wonderful work! That is the type of information that are supposed to be shared around the internet. Shame on the seek engines for no longer positioning this put up upper! Come on over and discuss with my site . Thanks =)

Leave a Reply

