More Help for Stressed Pets

After dealing with Charlie’s serious separation anxiety for so long, I always worry about accidentally conditioning Pippi to start getting anxious too.  She’s very independent so I probably don’t have much to worry about it too much.  But on the other hand, she really hates change.  She stresses when we visit friends’ homes, she barks and runs away when newly fallen trees or farm equipment suddenly appear on her favorite trail, and is very wary of approaching anything unnatural like a skateboard or my new grill or crossdog anxiety country skis.  Unless it’s made of food or dead animal.  Then she’s fearless and will approach pretty much anything.

Because of this, I always gather information on how to reduce stress for her and help ease any transitions she might find scary.  When I read this post I was instantly amazed.  First of all, it’s great to know that even trainers who have had their dog(s) for years still run into trouble now and then.  And secondly, Katie’s efforts to get her neighbors involved in the training was truly a stroke of brilliance.  Because I’ve also had the “I’ve tried everything and I’m all out of ideas” experience, I love that there is now a magic machine tool to help when you’ve reached the end.  If I ever decide to go back to apartment living, or even if I move to a new place, I will certainly keep this post and the Manners Minder in my bag of transition tricks!

Thanks to Katie for sharing her story and thanks to Paws Abilities for posting it so we can all learn a thing or two!

One thought on “More Help for Stressed Pets

  1. My Buddy was a runner without a home until I found him and gave him one. Knowing that he had little fear of anything and would chase everything, I needed to train him to respond to different situations. I kept the routine the same for everything and every situation….. In a very calm voice told him it was alright, made him sit and said NO without a big long explaination but made eye contact with him at all times. Now when I say NO, he sits, stops barking, stops shaking and gets a calm about him without any fear that he is in trouble or has done something wrong. On the other hand when he barks at a stranger on our property, I also tell him to sit but tell him he is a good boy! It seems to have worked keeping commands simple and the first thing is for him to sit. Even at a full run after a rabbit, all I say is SIT…I don’t ever yell at him. Taking him to visit works the same way and I think because I kept it simple and to one command, he is a calm dog.

Leave a Reply

